I'm a Louisiana landlord with a difficult tenant. I've given the tenant the proper Louisiana termination notice, but he still won't leave. What next? What is the Louisiana eviction process?
UPDATED: February 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident law decisions. Finding trusted and reliable legal advice should be easy. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
If you are a Louisiana landlord who has notified your tenant that their lease is terminating but they still won't leave, your next step is filing for eviction. Once the tenant's notice period has expired (usually 5 days, sometimes more), you can go to your justice of the peace or city court and file for eviction. See the "Getting Help" section in our Louisiana Evictions article. Once your tenant is served with the eviction papers, the hearing will be within 3 days and you and your tenant will both argue your sides to the judge. If the judge rules in your favor, the tenant will have 24 hours to get out. If the tenant is still not out of the property after 24 hours, the court will issue a warrant that allows the local sheriff to remove the tenant from the premises. Remember that only the sheriff can remove the tenant, and you should not attempt to do so yourself, as you may be liable to the tenant for damages if you do.
If at any time in this process you start to feel overwhelmed, you might consider hiring an experienced Louisiana evictions attorney to help you get through the evictions process.