I'm a Georgia tenant and I don't want to move out of my home. How can I avoid eviction? What are my Georgia tenant eviction rights?
UPDATED: February 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident law decisions. Finding trusted and reliable legal advice should be easy. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
If your landlord has demanded that you vacate and filed a dispossessory affidavit, you must answer orally or in writing within 7 days, or the lawsuit will go into default and your landlord may be able to have the sheriff remove all your possessions from the rental. During this 7 day period you can offer to pay the rent you owe and court costs, and the landlord is required to accept this (but only once each 12-month period). If you are being evicted for another cause, or have some reason not to pay rent, you should simply file your answer. The answer will basically state why you do not think the landlord has cause to evict you. This is your chance to tell your side of the story. Once you file the answer (either in writing or by stating it to the court clerk), a hearing will be scheduled for both you and your landlord to present your cases.
At this point, you may wish to seek the advice of an experienced Georgia evictions lawyer, either to give you sound advice, help you defend against the eviction, or to advise you as to any rights you may have with respect to the circumstances surrounding the notice and the dispossessory action.